H/2021 Hall of Fame Award Winners

2021 Hall of Fame Award Winners

The Da Vinci Science Center has bestowed its Hall of Fame Awards annually since 1999 to students who show a unique passion for science, educators who inspire enthusiasm for science with innovative approaches, professionals and companies who bring science to life every day, and partners who support the Science Center’s mission.

Below are the winners of the 2021 Hall of Fame Awards.

2021 Student Excellence Award Winners

The Science Center recognizes four exceptional high school students, who have demonstrated a passion for the sciences both in-and-out of the classroom. Each student receives a $2,000 scholarship.

Addison Liu, Unionville High School

Addison will bring her passion for robotics to Harvard University next fall, where she hopes to dive even deeper into scientific research.

Sponsored by PPL

Ankhitha Manjunatha, Parkland High School

Ankhitha is eager to work on developing devices that can address modern challenges through the use of physics and engineering. She hopes that through her research, she can make a positive effect on the lives of others and is excited to continue her journey.

Sponsored by B Braun

Angelina Xu, Ridge High School

Angelina is an incoming freshman at MIT and is considering pursuing an MD-PhD or a major in public health.

Sponsored by Victaulic

Purva Gupta, Parkland High School

Purva is currently training to deliver prehospital care and transport as an EMT.

Sponsored by ATAS International, Inc.

Erel STEM Scholarship Award Winner

This is a needs-based scholarship that recognizes an outstanding female high school senior who has demonstrated strong academic ability and a commitment to learning, achievement and serving others in the community. This scholarship provides both a mentorship opportunity as well as financial support of $2,000 to be used toward the cost of tuition.

The Erel STEM Scholarship is funded by Fusun Bubernack, philanthropist and entrepreneur, in honor of her parents, Hasan Fehmi & Sabahat Erel, and their commitment to the importance of quality education and the pursuit of excellence.

Lucy Clayton, Blair Academy

Lucy will continue to study biology and material science as she moves on to Davidson College next year, and is so excited for all she has left to learn.

Sponsored by Fusun Bubernack and ET&T

Educator Excellence Award Winners

Educators can be nominated for the Teacher Excellence Award and the STEM Leadership Award. These awards honor educators in grades K-12 who inspire enthusiasm for science with innovative approaches.

Teacher Excellence Award

Cynthia Dale Miller, William Tennent High School, Centennial SD

Over the 18 years of Cynthia’s teaching career, she has taught a wide array of science courses including Biology, Discovery Science, Chemistry, Environmental Science, and Forensic Science.

Sponsored by Vince & Michelle Sorgi

Teacher Excellence Award

Stacey Chunko, March Elementary School, Easton Area SD

During her 22 years of teaching, Stacey has always been committed to giving her students every opportunity to engage in experiences that will help them in real-world situations.

Sponsored by Corbenic Partners, LLC

STEM Leadership Award

Denise Route, Rock L. Butler Middle School, Wellsboro Area SD

Denise is a second career teacher in her 10th year of teaching. She believes that a student’s curiosity should always direct their learning process and a teacher’s job is to encourage that exploration while bringing learning to life for every student.

Sponsored by Just Born

STEM Leadership Award

Matthew Erway, Rock L. Butler Middle School, Wellsboro Area SD

Throughout his career, Matthew has used Technology Education, Engineering, and STEM-based curriculum to provide students with opportunities to learn concepts and build skills that will impact their future.

Sponsored by Michael J. Stoudt, Jr., CPA, and Stoudt Associates, LLC


P: 484.664.1002
D: 3145 Hamilton Blvd. Bypass, Allentown, PA 18103
H: Mon.-Sat., 10 a.m.-5 p.m.; Sun. 12-5 p.m.
Get Directions