H/2022 STEAM Scholarship Award Winners

2022 STEAM Scholarship Award Winners

The Da Vinci Science Center has bestowed its STEAM Scholarship Awards (formerly known as the Hall of Fame Awards) annually since 1999 to students who show a unique passion for science, educators who inspire enthusiasm for science with innovative approaches, professionals and companies who bring science to life every day, and partners who support the Science Center’s mission.

Below are the winners of the 2022 STEAM Scholarship Awards.

2022 STEAM Student Scholarship Award Winners

The Science Center recognizes four exceptional high school students, who have demonstrated a passion for the sciences both in-and-out of the classroom. Each student receives a $2,000 scholarship.

Nicole Luna, Dieruff High School

When she imagines her future career, Nicole sees herself in graphic design, architectural engineering, or studio art.

Sponsored by ATAS International, Inc.

Ellyn Wong, Nazareth Area High School

Ellyn aspires to pursue a future in sustainable engineering.

Sponsored by Vince & Michelle Sorgi

Christian Piper, Southern Lehigh High School

Christian plans to pursue a degree in Robotic Engineering with the ultimate goal of owning his own business.

Sponsored by Victaulic

Hemani Patel, Liberty High School

In the future, Hemani hopes to be a leader as a woman in STEAM; pursuing her bachelor’s, master’s, and Ph.D. in biomedical engineering. 

Sponsored by PPL

Erel STEM Scholarship Award Winner

This is a scholarship that recognizes an outstanding female high school senior who has demonstrated strong academic ability and a commitment to learning, achievement and serving others in the community. This scholarship provides both a mentorship opportunity as well as financial support of $2,000 to be used toward the cost of tuition. 

The Erel STEM Scholarship is funded by Fusun Bubernack, philanthropist and entrepreneur, in honor of her parents, Hasan Fehmi & Sabahat Erel, and their commitment to the importance of quality education and the pursuit of excellence. 

Caitlin Stoudt, Northampton Area High School

Caitlin plans to pursue a degree in chemical engineering and hopes to participate in undergraduate research and, one day, be able to grow as a scientist and pursue her own research studies.

Sponsored by Fusun Bubernack and ET&T

STEAM Educator Award Winners

The Da Vinci Science Center STEAM Educator Awards celebrate K-12 educators who facilitate curiosity-driven projects in which all students are encouraged to think broadly across the academic disciplines and connect their learning to their own lives. These teachers guide students in career exploration, meaningful collaboration with peers, and the creative use of technology, helping them develop their STEAM identities as competent problem-solvers and innovators. 

Marissa Kvacky, Freedom High School, Bethlehem Area SD

In her five years of teaching, Marissa has brought real-world applications into her lessons to help students make connections between the classroom and their daily lives.

Sponsored by the Ryan Family Foundation

Daniel Kotran, Sheckler Elementary School, Catasauqua Area SD

Daniel uses technology such as coding and robotics to bring creativity to the classroom. He believes that STEAM curriculum provides every student an equal opportunity to learn, experience, think and grow.

Sponsored by Highmark

Shane Killeen, Career Institute of Technology

Shane teaches culinary education and uses modern equipment and cooking techniques to teach STEAM concepts. Shane enjoys incorporating the scientific method into his class to make real-world connections between science and food.

Sponsored by Corbenic Partners LLC


P: 484.664.1002
D: 3145 Hamilton Blvd. Bypass, Allentown, PA 18103
H: Mon.-Sat., 10 a.m.-5 p.m.; Sun. 12-5 p.m.
Get Directions